Serena Williams, Mirza-Hingis Bag Top Honors at WTA Annual Awards

by Vishal Gajaria | Posted on Wednesday, December 9th, 2015 | 0


Serena Williams: WTA Player of the Year

America powerhouse Serena Williams clinched the esteemed award for her incredible 2015 season. With an unsurpassed 55-8 record this year, she certainly deserved this ahead of all her adversaries. The highlight of her season was winning three off the four Grand Slams that saw her bag a record 7th such award.

Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis: WTA Team of the Year

Having won as many as nine titles on the tour this season alone, the Indo-Swiss combination were hardly given a run for their money. Such was the domination of the duo, which not only won the Wimbledon and US Open, but also peaked to World No. 1 ranking this year.

Venus Williams: WTA Comeback Player of the Year

Venus Williams, another seasoned campaigner, had a lot to ponder upon coming into the season. She, however, fought her odds off as she made her way back into the Top 10 after a long period of time. The 35-year-old won three titles to finish with a decent 41-14 record in 2015.

Other Recipients…

Elsewhere, Switzerland’s Timea Bacsinszky and Australia’s Daria Gavrilova were also rewarded for their respective successful outings this season.

While Bacsinszky bagged the honor for being the ‘Most Improved Player’, the 21-year-old Gavrilova received the ‘Newcomer of the Year’ award.


About the Author

Mass Media student from the University of Mumbai. Also, a huge Cricket enthusiast and a Tennis fanatic, with a smattering of other sports.

TSM Plug