Messi-Ronaldo-Suarez on Player of the Year Short List

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Monday, July 18th, 2016 | 0

Messi-Ronaldo-Suarez on Player of the Year Short List

After the European Championship, and Copa America tournament, the European Footballer of the Year awards list has been published. Is expected the world’s two Argentina star Lionel Messi and Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo is on the list.

By journalists vote on each year this award is given to European Club’s best player.

On Monday (18 July), European football’s governing body UEFA published a shortlist of 10 players. Brazil’s captain Neymar is not named on this short list. Barcelona star striker played 49 matches last season and strikes 31 times into the opponent’s net.

But the Uruguayan striker Luis Suarez is on this list. He scored 59 goals in 53 games for his club last season.

Cristiano Ronaldo ahead of the race to win the European Footballer of the Year award. He has won the Champions League title for Real Madrid and where he scored 16 goals in the whole tournament and won EURO Championship for the first time of the season. And in the whole club season played 48 matches, where he scored 51 goals.

On the other hand, Messi has won La Liga title at the last season as well as Copa Del Rey. And in 49 matches Messi scored 41 goals.

Gareth Bale, Pepe, and Toni Kroos are in top ten as well as Ronaldo from Real Madrid. After winning the Champions League with Real Madrid, Wales’s winger Gareth Bale played in the semi-final of EURO Championship for his country.

Atletico Madrid’s goal machine and Best Footballer of EURO Championship, Antoine Griezmann also at the race. He was the runner ups team member of last season EURO Championship and Champions League. In addition, the Italy and Juventus goalkeeper Buffon, Germany and Bayern Munich’s Thomas Muller, Manuel Neuer.



Top Ten list: Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Luis Suarez, Buffon, Manuel Neuer, Antoine Griezmann, Toni Kroos, Thomas Mueller, Pepe, and Gareth Bale.

About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug