Zimbabwe Vs. Sri Lanka, The Tri-Nation finals facts

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Sunday, November 27th, 2016 | 0

Finally the underdog of Tri-nations series, the host Zimbabwe has bounced back to life a earned the berth ticket to the final against Sri Lanka to be played at 07:30 GMT, November 27, 2016. The match is to be played at Queens Sports Club, Bulawayo.

So far Zimbabwe is still the underdog of the tournament. But they have international cricketing experience and this is their home ground. So the home team can be optimistic about the finals after a tremendous comeback against West Indies where the Zimbabwe team won by 5 run in a rain troubled match.

Zimbabwe Vs. Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka did not flourished against the pace and bounce of West Indies but they have something to remember from their first match against Zimbabwe which they won by 8 wickets. Their batting was well enough to get a one run win against West Indies last Wednesday. Though the team lacks in international experience, the are in good spirit and will surely be difficult to face.

Last time Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka met for a Tri-nation final was six years ago at Harare Sports Club. Veterans from that series are also part of this final too with Elton Chigumbura, Hamilton Masakadza, Graeme Cremer for Zimbabwe and Nuwan Kulasekara and Upul Tharanga for Sri Lankan side.

Latest news from the field confirms that Nuwan Pradeep and Shehan Jayasuriya is not on the squad and  out, Dasun Shanaka and Jeffrey Vandersay have been taken instead. This two change makes the Sri Lankan Squad:

Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Perera, Niroshan Dickwella(w), Kusal Mendis, Upul Tharanga(c), Dasun, Shanaka, Asela Gunaratne, Sachith, Pathirana, Nuwan Kulasekara, Jeffrey Vandersay, Suranga Lakmal.

On Zimbbwe side there has been a few changes too with Brian Vitori and Malcolm Waller come in the XI with a debutante Tarisai Musakanda. This changes makes the squad:

Malcolm Waller, Hamilton Masakadza, Craig Ervine, Sikandar Raza, Sean Williams, Peter moor, Graeme Cremer, Donald Tiripano, Brian Vitori, Tendai Chisoro, Tarisai Musakanda.

with both teams set Zimbabwe won the toss and opted to bat first. There is one enemy remains. The drizzling turned out heavy rain on Saturday night and now players are attending their national anthem in drizzling and both teams have gone back to the back room until the rain stops. The pitch condition is conductive for batting and many predicted that the second innings could go again on Duckworth-Lewis. Weather was gloomy since the early morning and now it’s raining in Bulawae. Masakadza and wicket keeper Peter Moor to open for Zimbabwe. Let’s hope the rain would not trouble the match but who knows!

About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug