New Zealand won 1st T20 at Wellington

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Tuesday, February 13th, 2018 | 0

Team Pakistan has recently finished the five matches ODI series against Black Caps and in the series, the Green Army was whitewashed. After the ODI series, they were scheduled to play a T20I series against the local team. In that case, the T20I series consisted of three matches. The inaugural T20 was staged in 22nd January, 2018 where New Zealand won 1st T20 at Wellington against Pakistan. That means the Black Caps took the lead of the T20I series as well and now they were ahead of Pakistan by 1 – 0 game. It seemed that they were going to win another series against the guest team.

New Zealand won 1st T20 at Wellington

Team Pakistan was passing very bad time when they travelled New Zealand. They yet to see any victory except the warm up match. So, they had a hope to win the T20 series against the local team which will be a revenge for them where Pakistan lost the ODI series against Black Caps. But after the 1st T20I match, their hope has lost. They are now thinking about series win Black Caps so far.

In 22nd January, 2018 the opening T20I match between Pakistan and New Zealand was staged which was hosted at Wellington Regional Stadium, Wellington. The match was a day/ night competition where Pakistan lost the toss and given to bat first. Black Caps captain decided to bowl first. They have experience in the field as their home venue and so, they took the right decision. Team Pakistan came to bat and losing all wickets in 19.4 overs. They scored only 105 runs where Babar Azam was the highest scorer who scored 41 runs in 41 balls so far. It was a shame that the Green Army lost all wickets. Tim Southee took three wickets in exchange for only 13 runs. He bowled four overs so far.

However, later Black Caps came to chase the score where the score was so poor. In 20 overs to win, team Pakistan had to add more runs to beat the local team. So, New Zealand easily chased the score. In 15.5 overs they reached the destination. They lost only three wickets to chase it. Colin Munro scored highest 49 runs in 43 balls. He played till the last and remained not out. Rumman Raees who was the new player of Pakistan team took highest two wickets. Finally Colin Munro was declared as the player of the match.

About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug