Australia won by 5 wickets at Harare

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Monday, July 23rd, 2018 | 0

Finally team Australia has qualified for the upcoming tri nation series final and they will play against Pakistan in the final. In their 4th match, team Australia won by 5 wickets at Harare against Zimbabwe. Though the match, the group stage competition in tri nation series is over. All team splayed four matches each where team Australia and Pakistan won three matches each but local team Zimbabwe failed to win any single match so far. So, at their home venue, they failed to qualify for the final of tri nation series.

Australia won by 5 wickets at Harare

The group stage competition consisted of six matches where in the last match, Australia faced Zimbabwe. The match staged in 6th July, 2018 at the Harare Sports Club. In the match, team Zimbabwe won the toss and took the opposite decision. They decided to bat first. Earlier, they observed a match between Pakistan and Australia where first batting team Pakistan won the match. So, they thought to take the advantage by batting first. Brandon Mavuta for Zimbabwe and Jack Wildermuth for Australia made their T20I debut through the match.

Zhuwao and Mire opened the innings for Zimbabwe where in 0 runs opener Zhuwao was gone. He made a golden duck. Later, Mire made partnership with captain Masakadza, later with Musakanda, then Moor, Chigumbura, Waller and Tiripano. He played with the above ll players and finally added 63 runs individually which was the highest for the team. Moor scored 30 runs where Masakadza scored 13 runs, Musakanda scored 12 runs and Waller scored 13 runs so far. In 20 overs team Zimbabwe lost nine wickets and scored 151 runs. It was almost a handsome total in T20I competition but not enough to defeat Australia. Among Aussie bowlers Tye took highest three wickets where Stanlake and Richardson took two wickets each so far.

Later, Australia came to chase 151 runs but they also failed to make a good start. Carey and captain Finch started the innings where Finch scored 3 runs and Carey scored 16 runs so far. Finally Head and Maxwell took the lead and added almost 100 runs so far. Maxwell scored 56 runs highest and Head added 48 runs so far. By losing five wickets team Australia reached the destination. They had to play 19.5 overs to make the chase successful. Muzarabani took three wickets highest for Zimbabwe. Through the victory team Australia reached the final. Andrew Tye of Australia got the player of the match award.

About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug