Australia won 1st T20 against Black Caps

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Wednesday, February 7th, 2018 | 0

Australia cricket team is currently finished a Test and a ODI series against England where Test series was known as Ashes. In this season of Ashes, Australia reclaimed their title once again from England. Later, they played a ODI series against England but this time, England destroyed them completely. In the ODI series which consisted of five matches, England won by 4 – 1 games. After that according to ICC, Australia, England and New Zealand have participated into the tournament which is hosted by Australia and New Zealand. The tournament is basically a T20I competition which is known as Trans-Tasman Tri-Series. The tournament has started in 2nd February, 2018. But officially the first T20I match which was between Australia and New Zealand was taken place in 3rd February, 2018. In the match, Australia won 1st T20 against Black Caps.

Australia won 1st T20 against Black Caps

In 3rd February, 2018 the first match of Trans-Tasman Tri-Series was staged which was between New Zealand and Australia. It was a day/ night competition where Australia won the toss and decided to bowl first. The match was hosted at Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney where Chris Brown and Simon Fry were the field umpires. For Australia, Alex Carey and D’Arcy Short made their T20I debut through the match.

Australia won the toss in the 1st T20I in the tournament where they opted to bowl first. So, came to bat New Zealand did not able to score much runs but finished their innings scoring 117 runs in exchange for nine wickets. Their highest scorer was Colin de Grandhomme who scored 38 runs and remained unbeaten. On the other side, Australia bowled very well and their bowler Andrew Tye took highest four wickets by bowling four overs.

117 runs in 20 competition was not much and if the opponent was Australia, then the match was lost obviously. So, AUstralia came to chase the score but rain affected the match. So, the target was reduced to 95 runs and they got 15 overs to do so. Australia reached the target successfully. They lost 3 wickets only and scored 96 runs in 11.3 overs. Chris Lynn scored highest 44 runs in 33 balls. FOr New Zealand Trent Boult took two wickets. Billy Stanlake received player of the match award for Australia.

After winning the match, team Australia received two points and New Zealand received none. Australia is going to play their next match against England in the tournament. New Zealand have to wait for their next competition which will be against England in 13th February, 2018 at Wellington.

About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug