Mats Wilander criticizes Andy Murray: ‘There is no Big Four, only Big Three’

by Ajit Singh Khanna | Posted on Friday, September 15th, 2017 | 0

Mats Wilander has hit out at Andy Murray, saying that the British tennis superstar does not belong to ‘Big Four’ that comprises of Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic as the other players.

While the other three players have a combined total of 47 Grand Slam titles, Murray has won the least — 3. Wilander, therefore, feels the term ‘Big Four’ is erroneous.

“There is no Big Four, only Big Three,” Wilander, a former Swedish world No. 1 who won 7 Major titles, was quoted as saying by

“Murray cannot be compared to the other three players. The Big Four concept was created because Andy was the fourth player to reach the semi-finals, but the winners were the other three.

“So, you cannot put a player who has won three Grand Slams alongside another who has won 12, 16 and 19.”

Wilander, however, didn’t shy away from admitting that Murray is way above the rest of the top-10 players.

“The difference is too great, there is a big difference between Murray and the other top 10 players,” he said.

     Grand Slam titles won by ‘Big Four’

  • Roger Federer (SUI) 19
  • Rafael Nadal (ESP) 16
  • Novak Djokovic (SRB) 12
  • Andy Murray (GBR) 3
About the Author

TSM Plug