Pakistan Hockey Asia Cup 2013 Team Squad

by Sameer Arshad | Posted on Thursday, August 15th, 2013 | 5

Pakistan Asia Cup 2013 Hockey

Asia Cup Hockey 2013 will be starting fromd 24 August 2013 and there are 8 teams participating in what should be a great event for the hockey fans in Asia. 8 teams are divided into two groups of 4 teams each, and top two from each group will make it to the next round which is Semifinals.

Pakistan is placed in the group A with Malaysia, Japan and China and they should be able to get through this group with ease, while we have a tough groub B which has South Korea, India Oman and Bangladesh and Today Pakstan Hockey federations has announced the 18 man Hockey team squad and here is the players list.

Pakistan 18 Man Team Squad for Hockey Asia Cup 2013

  1. Mohammad Imran (captain)
  2. Ali Shan
  3. Rashid Mahmood
  4. Waqas Sharif
  5. Muhammad Zubair
  6. Waseem Ahmad
  7. Shakeel Abbasi
  8. Dilbar Hussain
  9. Rizwan Junior
  10. Salman Akbar
  11. Muhammad Tauseeq
  12. Fareed Ahmad
  13. Amir Shahzad
  14. Imran Butt
  15. Muhammad Irfan
  16. Abdul Haseem Khan
  17. Shafqat Rasool
  18. Umar Bhutta

This is a massive event for Pakistan as they need to win the Asia Cup 2013 in order to keep their Hockey World Cup qualification alive. Anything less than the Asia Cup winners medal will put Pakistan qualification in World Cup in serious doubt.

Pakistan recalled couple of a senior players have been dropped and a couple has been brought back like Waseem Ahmed a player with much international hockey experience.

About the Author

Formula one fan, blogger, designer and entrepreneur. Knows thing or two about a thing a two of sports, tweak codes, make cool infographs.

TSM Plug