WATCH: Lasith Malinga’s controversial no-ball goes unnoticed by umpire

by Ajit Singh Khanna | Posted on Friday, March 29th, 2019 | 0

Controversy ensued seconds after Mumbai Indians (MI) prevailed by six runs over hosts Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in a thrilling Indian Premier League match on Thursday night.

Needing 7 runs to win off the last ball, RCB batsman Shivam Dube failed to lob a low full-toss from experienced MI fast bowler Lasith Malinga. Game over, right? Yes. But, should it have? No!

As players were heading back to the dug-out, TV replays showed the last ball wasn’t a legal delivery. Malinga had overstepped… a no-ball that on-field umpire S Ravi failed to notice.

No wonder, RCB captain Virat Kohli fumed at the umpire at the post-match presentation.

“We are playing at the IPL level and not playing club cricket. The umpires should have had their eyes open. That is a ridiculous call at the last ball. If it is a game of margins, I don’t know what is happening. They should have been more sharp and careful out there,” Kohli opined.

MI captain Rohit Sharma corroborated with his Indian teammate, saying: “I just got to know when we crossed the rope. Somebody just told me it was a no-ball. These kind of mistakes are not good for the game of cricket, it’s pretty simple, the over before that. Bumrah bowled a ball which wasn’t a wide ball. Those are game-changers.”

Earlier, chasing MI’s total of 187-8, RCB needed 17 to win off the last over. Malinga’s pin-pint Yorkers mixed with pace variations, however, ensured first points for his team.

About the Author


TSM Plug