India Announce Squad for Australia Tests, MS Dhoni to Miss Series Opener

by Vishal Gajaria | Posted on Monday, November 10th, 2014 | 0

Indian selectors have announced a vast 19-member squad for the upcoming Australia tour, where India will be playing a four-match Test series in December-January, ahead of the 2015 World Cup Down Under.

The Indian side marks the return of limited-overs specialist batsman, Suresh Raina, while Lokesh Rahul, Naman Ojha and Karn Sharma are the two uncapped players named in the squad.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), however, made an announcement that MS Dhoni will not be present for the first Test in Brisbane due to an injury.

“Virat Kohli will lead India in the first Test, starting on 4 December 2014, in Brisbane,” the BCCI press release read. “M.S. Dhoni has been rested for the first Test as a prophylactic measure to ensure optimum recovery.

“He will join the team from the second Test onwards, and will lead the team for the rest of the Test series,” it added.

SQUAD: MS Dhoni (C, WK), Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Wriddhiman Saha, Naman Ojha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Karn Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Varun Aaron.

(Image: Zee News)

About the Author

Mass Media student from the University of Mumbai. Also, a huge Cricket enthusiast and a Tennis fanatic, with a smattering of other sports.

TSM Plug