Chennai Super Kings won 3rd IPL title

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Friday, June 1st, 2018 | 0

Chennai Super Kings and Sunrisers Hyderabad were the two most successful teams in recently finished Indian Premier League 2018. Both of them finished the group stage by holding the top two position. Finally, this two giant teams faced against each other in final of IPL 11. I n the match Sunrisers Hyderabad faced defeat once against and Chennai Super Kings won 3rd IPL title. It was a great achievement for CSK to win 3rd IPL title. Since the beginning of the season, they played very good. Chennai Super Kings came to the IPL 11 after two seasons. Due to illegal betting action, they were banished from the competition for two seasons. So, after two years, they came to the competition and won the title.

Chennai Super Kings won 3rd IPL title

It seems that Sunrisers Hyderabad faced some bad luck in the tournament. They were in the top position by winning highest number of matches in group level. So, they were scheduled to play first qualifier against CSK but faced defeat. Due to the reason, they played 2nd qualifier against Kolkata Knight Riders or KKR at Eden Gardens. In the match, Sunrisers Hyderabad confirmed their ticket in IPL final but once against in final they faced defeat against the same team.

Against Chennai Super Kings, they have no good records in the season. In group stage this two teams played two times and in both times, SRH faced defeat. Against the same opponent, Sunrisers Hyderabad were lost four times in the season and the lucky team was CSK.

The final of IPL 11 took place in 27th May, 2018 and the host ground was Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Earlier the match, CSK won the toss and decided to bowl first. So, SRH came to bat in final.

Goswami and Dhawan started the innings for Sunrisers Hyderabad. In 13 runs opening partnership was broken. Dhawan scored 26 runs so far. Williamson played almost good than rest players who scored highest 47 runs. Another player Pathan scored 45 runs so far. Finally in 20 overs team SRH scored 178 runs in exchange for six wickets.

Chennai Super Kings wanted to start the match very good but in 16 runs opener Du Plessis was gone. Later, Watson and Raina made a partnership that added more than 100 runs to the scoreboard. Raina scored 32 runs so far. later, Rayudu came up and both Rayudu and Watson finished the innings very good. Watson made a century unbeaten in the final. He scored 117 runs in 57 balls only. By playing 18.3 overs team CSK won the match.

About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug