FIFA World Cup Golden Glove Award Past Winners

by Sameer Arshad | Posted on Sunday, September 1st, 2013 | 0

Golden Gove award previous winnersFIFA World Cup is the ultimate test of professional footballer, and it always has been the most watched sporting event in the world. Happens every 4 years and next edition will be in Brazil which is FIFA World Cup 2014 and the host coutry is the leading World Cup title winners on 5 seperate occasions. So today we bring you the list of all the previous 5 winners of FIfa World Cup Yashin Award which is awarded to the best goalkeeper.

World Cup Yashin Award

fifa started giving away the best goalkeeper award since 1994, and since than 5 different goalkeepers has won this prestigious award with the likes of Oliver Kahn, Fabien Barthez and Buffon etc while this award was renamed to “Golden Gloves Award” in 2010 World Cup which Iker Casillas won who helped spain to claim their first World Cup title.

Previous Winners of World Cup Yashin Award

World Cup Edition Winner (Goalkeeper)
World Cup 1994 USA BelgiumMichel Preud’homme
World Cup 1998 Frace France World Cup 2014 KitsFabien Barthez
World Cup 2002 Korea/Japan German World Cup 2014 LogoOliver Kahn
World Cup 2006 Germany Italy Logo 2014 World CupGianluigi Buffon
World Cup 2010 South Africa Spain 2014 World CUp LogoIker Casillas
World Cup 2014 Brazil ?


As you can see only 1 of the 5 winners so far, did not get his hands on FIFA World Cup trophy as well, so it is very likely that the keeper of a World Cup winner side will get the “Golden Gloves Award”

About the Author

Formula one fan, blogger, designer and entrepreneur. Knows thing or two about a thing a two of sports, tweak codes, make cool infographs.

TSM Plug