Wimbledon 2015: Novak Djokovic, Serena Williams Crowned Champions

by Vishal Gajaria | Posted on Sunday, July 12th, 2015 | 0


Serbia’s Novak Djokovic justified his top seeding as he lifted his 9th Grand Slam title after winning the gentlemen’s singles title at the prestigious Wimbledon 2015 Championships at the All England Club on Sunday.

The top-ranked Djokovic upstaged arch-rival Roger Federer of Switzerland 7-6, 6-7, 6-4, 6-3 in a stiff title-clash. The Serb fired 13 aces, scored 46 winners, and committed just 16 unforced errors en route his third Wimbledon crown.


In the ladies’ singles final, top-seeded Serena Williams shrugged off a healthy challenge from Spanish journeywoman Garbine Muguruza to cruise for a 6-4 6-4 triumph that marked her record 21st Grand Slam title.

By the virtue of her 6th Wimbledon singles crown, the American powerhouse now continues to climb the ladder in the list of most singles titles at majors. She follows Margaret Court (24) and Steffi Graf (21) at the third spot.


Elsewhere, the Indo-Swiss combination of Sania Mirza and Martina Hingis won the ladies’ doubles title, while Jean-Julien Roger and Horia Tecau pulled off the gentlemen’s doubles trophy.



About the Author

Mass Media student from the University of Mumbai. Also, a huge Cricket enthusiast and a Tennis fanatic, with a smattering of other sports.

TSM Plug