WATCH: Nick Kyrgios trolled by chair umpire during dramatical Wimbledon clash against Robin Haase

by Ajit Singh Khanna | Posted on Friday, July 6th, 2018 | 0

Nick Kyrgios literally got schooled at Wimbledon on Thursday.

During his second-round match against Robin Haase, the Australian star served an ace, which was ruled out due to foot fault, much to his dismay.

He immediately complained to chair umpire James Keothavong, saying: “What? After I hit it? How’s that possible?”

“That’s what he has to do. He can’t call it before you hit it,” replied Keothavong as the crowd burst into laughter. Kyrgios, too, couldn’t help wearing a wry smile on his face.

Keothavong 1 – 0 Kyrgios.

The umpire later come down to literally explain Kyrgios how the foot fault rule really goes.

Not that there was no more drama in the contest.

Midway during the third set, a linesman reported Kyrgios’ words to Keothavong, following which he was handed a code violation.

Despite the controversies, Kyrgios had the last laugh as he clinched a 6-3 6-4 7-5 win over the Dutchman. The 15th seed will face Japan’s Kei Nishikori, seeded 25th, in the third round.

About the Author



Pin It
TSM Plug