Iraq vs Japan Live Asian Cup Match

by Nicholas Salgado | Posted on Wednesday, January 7th, 2015 | 0

Iraq will play with the Asian giant Japan on 16 January 2015. The matches will hold at Australian Brisbane Stadium and kick off at 7:00 AST and 8:00am GMT. This match will live converged by CCTV – China, Fox Sports, ABC – Australia, and TV Asahi – Japan.


Kick-off: January 16, 2015

Stadium: Brisbane Stadium

Match of: Group D

Tournament: 2015, AFC Asia Cup

Match Of: Iraq vs. Japan

Start From: 7:30 (Australian Local Time), 2:00pm (BST) and 8:00am (UK time or -11:30 GMT)

Iraq vs. Japan

Broadcasts TV Channel:

beIN Sports – Arab League

Fox Sports, ABC – Australia

CCTV – China

Eurosport – Europe

SporTV – Brazil

Fox International Channels – Asia-Pacific

Now TV – Hong Kong

TV Asahi – Japan.

Starting XI:


Jalal Hassan, Ahmad Ibrahim, Ali Faez, Salam Shaker, Waleed Salem, Amjad Kalaf, Ahmed Yasin, Humam Tariq, Saad Abdul-Amir, Younis Mahmoud (c), Alaa Abdul-Zahra.


Eiji Kawashima, Yuto Nagatomo, Gōtoku Sakai, Maya Yoshida, Yasuhito Endō, Shinji Kagawa, Yasuyuki Konno, Makoto Hasebe (captain), Hiroshi Kiyotake, Keisuke Honda, Shinji Okazaki.

Head to Head of Iraq vs. Japan:

In 8 appearances between these 2 football nations Japan won 4 matches and Iraq won 2 matches and the other 2 matches was drawn. Japan was finding their first win against Iraq till 2000. Since 2000, after their first match Japan in unbeaten still now at their last 4 matches.

At the first matches between Japan and Iraq was finished at 0-0 goal on 1978. At the second match between them, Iraq won by 2-0 goals and this is the biggest win by Iraq against Japan on 1981.

Biggest aggregate between them is 4-1 goals in the 2000 Asian Cup. This was the first win for Japan and also the biggest win for them. At the last matches on January 2013 at FIFA world cup qualifying Japan defeated Iraq by 1-0 goals.

Match Preview:

Japan is the 2nd strongest football playing nation at the moment, due to FIFA ranking. They are the current champion of Asia Cup and the highest title winner of Asia cup. Japan won this title for the 4 times. In their 11 appearances Japan had won this cup for 4 times. First was 1992 and the second time they have won this at 2000. Unfortunately they can’t qualify at 2002 Asia Cup when they were the host at 2002 World Cup Tournament. Japan is playing this 2015 tournament directly as the current champion.

Iraq is standing their 7th appearances at the Asia Cup football championship. They are the champion of the 2007 tournament. Iraq is the qualified for the 2015 Asia Cup from the Group C runners-up in the qualifying round where UAE was the Group champion. Iraq was playing the first tournament of the Asia Cup o 1972.

About the Author

TSM Plug