T20 World cup winner list

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Thursday, December 24th, 2015 | 0

ICC T20 is knocking in the door. Last time it was host by Bangladesh on 2014 and at 2016 India will becomes the host nation of the tournament. This will also be the 6th edition of the tournament. 16 team goes to participates of that tournament. Sri Lanka is the current champion of T20 world cup which their only ICC title after 1996. Interestingly 5 teams were the champion in five different edition of T20I World Cup. Most runs also scored by a Sri Lanka, Mahela Jayawardene scored 1016 runs and with 38 wickets Sri Lankan Lasith Malinga is the most wicket taker in world cup so far.

At the first tournament South Africa was the host team but the winner was India as they defeats Pakistan in the finals at the Final over by 5 runs. But second time Pakistan did not make any mistake, win the title after defeating Sri Lanka by 8 wickets. In the 3rd edition of the tournament England have won their first ever ICC trophy after defeating Australia in the final by 7 wickets. West Indies have also their first title in an ICC event after the 2nd ICC World Cup winning. They defats Sri Lanka by 36 runs. But in the 5th and last edition of T20 world cup, Sri Lanka won the title in 3rd Final attempts. They are also the only team to played more than 2 t20 world cup finals. They defeats India by 6 wickets in the final, which was also the 2nd final for India.

Host team

Winner Runner Ups


South Africa India Pakistan India won by 5 wickets
England Pakistan Sri Lanka Pakistan won by 8 wickets
West Indies England Australia England won by 7 wickets
Sri Lanka West Indies Sri Lanka West Indies won by 36 runs
Bangladesh Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka won by 6 wickets


About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

Pin It
TSM Plug