Steven Smith has won ICC Cricket of the Year Award for 2014-15

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Wednesday, December 23rd, 2015 | 0

Steven Smith, Australian Test and ODI skipper has been on Cricket of the year award by ICC last night for 2014-15. He has been also awarded for the best test player of the year as well. And become the 7th player to won both title in a same year.

At 2004, Indian cricket THE WALL, Rahul Dravid won that both title in a same year for the first time, and then Jacques Kallis at 2005, Ricky Ponting on 2006, Kumar Sangakara n 2012, Michael Clark in 2013 and Mitchell Johnson in 2014. In last 3 years ICC Cricketer of the year won by Australian player. But Smith is the 4th player in Australian cricket history to won that award and become the 11th player in history. Since September 2014 to 13 September 2015, Smith scored most 1734 runs in 23 matches and 25 innings. The average is 82.57.

The ICC ODI Cricket award goes to South African skipper AB de Villiers. In this mentioned time he played 20 ODI innings, scored 1265 runs, 79+ average and Strike rate is 128.4.

For T20 I the award named as “T20 performance of the the year” goes to Fuf du Plessis, for his 119 runs innings by 56 balls against West Indies in Johannesburg.

The Award List:

ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) – Steven Smith

Test Cricketer of the Year – Steven Smith

Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Meg Lanning

ODI Cricketer of the Year – AB de Villiers

Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year – Stafanie Taylor

Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Josh Hazlewood

T20I Performance of the Year – Faf du Plessis

Associate/Affiliate Cricketer of the Year – Khurram Khan

Umpire of the Year (David Shepherd Trophy) – Richard Kettleborough

Spirit of Cricket Award – Brendon McCullum


About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug