Stefanos Tsitsipas accidentally hits linesman in face at Queen’s Club

by Ajit Singh Khanna | Posted on Thursday, June 20th, 2019 | 0

Stefanos Tsitsipas looked absolutely clinical against Kyle Edmund in the first round of the Fever Tree Championship on Wednesday.

Not everything went his way though. During one of the rallies, Tsitsipas failed to reach out to a return from Edmund. As a result, he miscued one straight to the face of a linesjudge.

He was courteous enough though to go up to him and apologise before the play resumed.

Tsitsipas’ momentum came to a halt again after rain stopped play when he was leading 6-3 3-3.

The duo will now resume their match second (after Marin Cilic versus Diego Schwartzman) on Centre Court. The winner will take the court again on the same day against Frenchman Jeremy Chardy.

Notably, at the same tournament in 2012, David Nalbandian was disqualified after he kicked an advertising board that left one linesman bloodied.

Tags
About the Author


TSM Plug