Samuels – West Indies Player of the Year

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Saturday, July 23rd, 2016 | 0

Black-Gatlin Qualified for Olympic

Marlon Samuels has been named the West Indies’ ODI Cricketer of the Year 2015. West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) annual awards ceremony held on Tuesday at Antigua. Test Player of the Year was awarded by West Indies’ Darren Bravo. Chris Gayle is in the hands of the best player trophy of T-20.

Since 2015 in one-day internationals Samuels scored 859 runs with three centuries. Besides this, tri-series at home last month he was the second highest score (258) after Aussie skipper Steve Smith.

Samuels played an important role in winning the title of 2nd T-20 world cup title earlier this year. In the final against England he scored 85 runs in 66 balls. In the meantime, he also won the 2nd time World Cup final man of the match award.

The women’s cricketer of the year has been named T-20 and ODI skipper Stephanie Taylor of West Indies.

The Emerging Player Award goes to Jomel Warrican. In Test debut at 2015 against Sri Lanka in October, the left-arm spinner took 6 wickets. For this reason, the selectors gave him this honor. U-19 World world cup held this year in Bangladesh, and West Indies won the championship. Where the captain Simran Hatmar scored 158 runs at an average of 26.33 in 6 matches. The performances selected him West Indies Under-19 Player of the Year.


WICB Player of the year at a glance


Under-19 Team of the Year:        Guyana

Under-19 Player of the Year: Simran Hatmar

First-class team of the year: Guyana

PCL 50 Over Player of the Year: Jason Mohammed

PCL four day matches Player of the Year: Veerasammy Permaul


Caribbean T-Twenty player of the year: Dwayne Bravo

ODI Player of the Year: Marlon Samuels

Women’s Player of the Year: Stephanie Taylor

Test Player of the Year: Darren Bravo

T-20 Twenty year player: Chris Gayle


Women’s T-Twenty Player of the Year: Stephanie Taylor

Emerging Player of the Year: Jomel Warrican

WICB Lifetime Achievement Award: Claravis Joseph

WICB Lifetime Achievement Award: Ralston Atar

Player of the Year: Stephanie Taylor

Player of the Year: Marlon Samuels

About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug