Rangpur Riders won against Sylhet by 7 runs

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Monday, November 20th, 2017 | 0

The new season of Bangladesh Premier League started in 4th November, 2017 and till now already 22nd matches have successfully passed. Just couple of matches were not staged due to rain but rest were hosted successfully. Rangpur Riders is one of the important contender of the title of BPL though this season, their performance are very disappointing. They were ranked last position on the point table of BPL where they just managed one victory in the season. But amazingly in last match they have achieved the 2nd victory.

Rangpur Riders won against Sylhet by 7 runs which was hosted in 20th November, 2017 at Shere Bangla National Stadium.

Rangpur Riders won against Sylhet by 7 runs

Basically couple of new players have joined with the team of Rangpur and so, they have become more stronger than ever. Brendon McCullum and Chris Gayle are the two top batsmen of Rangpur Riders and with their presence, Rangpur claimed 2nd victory.

However, Rangpur Riders lost the toss where their skipper is Mashrafe Mortaza and came to bat first. Basically 2nd batting team used to get the much benefit to win the match but today crease was not good for batsmen and so, first batting team was favourite. So, with McCullum and Gayle Rangpur Riders opened their innings. Opening partnership added 80 runs when McCullum was out by Nasir Hossain. He scored 33 runs in 21 balls. But Gayle stood strong. He scored highest 50 runs in 39 balls. He made five 6’s in his innings. Finally, Rangpur ended up with 169 runs in selected 20 overs by losing 7 wickets. Abul Hasan took highest two wickets but most of the bowlers were expensive.

However, came to chase the score Sylhet Sixers stumbled in 15 runs and in just 25 runs, they lost Danushka Gunathilaka, Andre Fletcher and Babar Azam. But in the 4th wicket partnership, they added more than 110 runs which almost changed the game. Though at the first time, it seemed that Rangpur would get an easy victory but Sylhet came to the spot light. Nasir and Sabbir both played aggressively and Sabbir scored 70 runs in 43 balls where by playing same number of balls, Nasir scored 50 runs and remained unbeaten. They were about to beat Rangpur but finally could not do that. Ranpur got victory by just 7 runs. Sylhet lost four wickets and scored 162 runs in 20 overs. Rangpur Riders bowlers took long to make an important breakthrough but finally succeeded. Sylhet Sixers is currently standing in 4th position on the BPL point table and will play their next match against Chittagong Vikings in 24th November, 2017.

About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug