Pakistan Announce 15-Man World Cup Squad, Umar Gul Dropped

by Vishal Gajaria | Posted on Wednesday, January 7th, 2015 | 0

The Pakistan Cricket Board today announced a 15-member squad for the World Cup 2015, which will be jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand in February-March.

The Misbah ul Haq-led side comprises of 7 specialist batsmen, 2 all-rounders and 6 fast-bowling options for the coveted tournament Down Under. However, the exclusion of veteran pacer, Umar Gul, came as a surprise to many.

Batsmen: Misbah ul Haq, Ahmed Shehzad, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Younis Khan, Umar Akmal Harris Sohail, Sohaib Maqsood

All-Rounders: Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Hafeez

Bowlers: Yasir Shah, Mohammad Irfan, Junaid Khan, Ehsan Adil, Sohail Khan, Wahab Riaz

Pakistan are scheduled to kick-off their World Cup campaign in the Pool ‘B’ match against India at the Adelaide Oval on February 15.

(Image: Zee News)

About the Author

Mass Media student from the University of Mumbai. Also, a huge Cricket enthusiast and a Tennis fanatic, with a smattering of other sports.

TSM Plug