New Zealand won by 61 runs

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Saturday, January 6th, 2018 | 0

Pakistan cricket team is currently travelling New Zealand where they are schedule to play a dual series against Black Caps which consists of ODIs and T20Is. Before making any official approach, they also played a warm up match against New Zealand XI where the Green Shirts won the match easily. Their official competition started in 6th January, 2017 where New Zealand won by 61 runs against Pakistan.

New Zealand won by 61 runs

The match between Pakistan and New Zealand was taken place at Basin Reserve, Wellington in 6th january, 2018 where Pakistan won the toss and decided to bat first. Pakistan is the guest team there and they could not understand the field nature clearly. It seems that if they decided to bat first which was effective for them. However, came to bat New Zealand scored 315 runs by losing seven wickets in 50 overs. It was big even for Pakistan but current Pakistan team seems balanced and could do that as well. However, Kane Williamson made an amazing century out there who scored 115 runs in 117 balls. This was his 10th ODI century. However, Pakistan came to chase the score and made 166 runs in 30.1 overs. In the meantime they lost six wickets. But considering D/L method, they were defeated by 61 runs. Fakhar Zaman was still in bat who scored 82 runs and remained not out.

Guptill and Munro started the innings for New Zealand and through their opening partnership, they added 83 runs when Munro was gone with 58 runs so far. He faced 35 balls. On the other hand, Guptill and skipper Williamson played well but Guptill could not score much runs but wasted balls too much. He was gone with 48 runs by facing 72 balls. On the other side, captain Williamson made a century out there and another player Nicholls also played well who scored 50 runs. So, they did able to play complete 50 overs and presented 315 runs target in front of the Green Army. Hasan Ali took highest three wickets for Pakistan.

Came to chase such huge target, Azhar Ali and Fakhar Zaman started the innings for Pakistan but Azhar Ali was gone by scoring 6 runs. Fakhar Zaman tried to make a good partnership but at the end of the crease no one could settle. They regularly lost wickets. At the end of 30.1 overs, Fakhar remained not out with 82 runs and Faheem Ashraf was with his by scoring 17 runs so far. By that time, New Zealand was announced as the winner team considering D/L method. Southee took highest three wickets where Boult took two wickets for Black Caps.

About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug