Netherlands won 2nd T20I against Ireland

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Friday, June 15th, 2018 | 0

Tri Nation Series has started in Netherlands where total three teams Netherlands, Scotland and Ireland have taken part. In 12th June, 2018 the tournament started and it will end in 20th June, 2018. The tournament format is T20I where Netherlands is the host nation. Since the year 2018. the tournament started their journey and they are planning to make it an annual competition. However, in the inaugural match which took place between Netherlands and Ireland, Dutch team beat Ireland. And in the 2nd match where they played their 2nd match against each other, Netherlands won 2nd T20I against Ireland.

Netherlands won 2nd T20I against Ireland

According to the schedule of Tri Nation Series 2018, each and every team will play against the same opponent twice times and so, the two matches between Netherlands and Ireland have finished already. Each team will have to play total four matches here.

Team Scotland was in another schedule and so, their match will come later. Now, the 2nd match between Netherlands and Ireland took place in 13th June, 2018. It seems that the two matches between them were staged consecutive days. At the same ground, it took place and the ground was Hazelaarweg Stadion, Rotterdam.

However, the match was day/ night competition where local team Ireland faced defeat in the toss and came to ball first.

Team Ireland came to bat and it was true that they played well than their first match. Ireland team scored 158 runs in 20 overs when they lost six wickets totally. Their player Gary Wilson scored highest 45 runs and remain unbeaten. It seems that Dutch team successfully chased the score. They had to play 19 overs and scored 159 runs. They also lost six wickets totally. So, Netherlands won by 4 wickets against Ireland.

Stirling and Shannon started the innings for Ireland. Openers added good runs. They jointy added 58 runs where Stirling was gone with 27 runs and Shannon scored 31 runs so far. Top players of the team got runs in the match. Porterfield scored 20 runs, Singh scored 13 runs, Wilson scored 45 runs and O’Brien scored 13 runs so far. Merwe took two wickets totally for Dutch team. Dutch captain used six bowlers to tie opponent innings earlier.

OPening partnership of Netherlands was not good as Ireland. But openers scored 25 and 39 runs respectively. Cooper scored 10 runs and captain Seelaar scored 22 runs so far. FInally captain and Edwards led the team to victory in 19 overs.

About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug