Murali Named at ICC Hall of Fame As the first Sri Lankan

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Thursday, July 28th, 2016 | 0

Murali Named at ICC Hall of Fame As the first Sri Lankan

Muttiah Muralitharan received another achievement in his calorific international career.

Former spin legend has been elected ICC Hall of Fame as the first Sri Lankan cricketer. 96’s World Cup Winner Muralitharan will occupy this prestigious list at the end of this season along with, England’s late fast bowler James Lehman, former Australian opener Arthur Morris and former Aussie woman team captain Karen Rolton.

Muralitharan is the most wicket taker in both Test cricket and ODIs. He is one of the 2 of thousand wickets taker in International Cricket arena. He took 1347 international wickets in his career and on the other hand Shane Warn’s have 1001 wickets in his whole career.

Almost 19 years (1992-2011) international career, Muralitharan took 800 Tests wickets in 133 matches and 534 wickets in 350 ODI matches. He was debut at 1992 with Colombo test against Australia.  At 2011 in after The World Cup finals, the legend off-spinner ended his international career.

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said, “”some very famous names in the list, we got a different era. Muralitharan is one of the best in the modern era. Lehman and Morris also were outstanding performer in their era. Bolton’s performance came recently and in a time when women’s cricket is very competitive.”


About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug