MS Dhoni Makes “Horrible” Comment on Umpire, Faces Rare Penalty

by Vishal Gajaria | Posted on Wednesday, May 20th, 2015 | 0
(photo: thenational)

(photo: thenational)


India skipper MS Dhoni, who is currently captaining the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) at the Indian Premier League (IPL), faced a rare penalty for making “indecent” comments on the umpire’s decision during their 25-run loss to Mumbai Indians (MI) at the Wankhede Stadium on Tuesday.

The remarks came in after CSK opener Dwayne Smith was adjudged out for naught by on-field umpire Richard Illingworth, who felt that, an in-swinging full toss from MI pacer Lasith Malinga would have hit Smith’s leg before the wicket, and eventually raised his finger.

However, replays confirmed that the ball would have missed the leg stump by a noticeable distance, and that Smith should have been deemed not-out instead. The West Indian, later, also showed his dissatisfaction after watching the rerun of his dismissal in the dressing room.

Later, when Dhoni was asked to reflect on their defeat in the post-match presentation, he was nippy to retort on the “horrible” decision.

“We lost too many wickets in the middle,” he assessed. “Not to forget Dwayne Smith got a horrible decision by any standards.”

Subsequently, the officials found Dhoni guilty for “inappropriate public comments” and had to bear 10 percent of his match fees.


About the Author

Mass Media student from the University of Mumbai. Also, a huge Cricket enthusiast and a Tennis fanatic, with a smattering of other sports.

Pin It
TSM Plug