Kumar Sangakkara, Ajinkya Rahane Bag Top Honors at CEAT Cricket Awards

by Vishal Gajaria | Posted on Tuesday, May 26th, 2015 | 0
(photo: cricketcountry)

(photo: cricketcountry)


Veteran Sri Lankan batsman Kumar Sangakkara was named the ‘International Cricketer of the Year’ at the CEAT Cricket Awards ceremony held in Mumbai on Monday.

The 37-year-old’s achievements in the last couple of years were sought to be unprecedented. Besides playing a key role in his country’s triumph at the 2014 World T20I, he also stunned many with his impeccable consistency at the World Cup 2015.

India’s Ajinkya Rahane was rewarded for his stellar overseas performance in the recent past, as he bagged the award for ‘International Indian Cricketer of the Year’ ahead of the likes of countrymen Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma.

“I am really honoured to receive the award,” an ecstatic Rahane was quoted as saying by CricBuzz. “Enjoyed batting throughout the IPL. Playing in Australia gave me the confidence to do well in IPL. Australia and England were both great tours for me.”

Another award awaited the Indian contingent soon after. Flamboyant opening batsman Rohit Sharma was adjudged the ‘Special Performer of the Year’ for his world record ODI individual score of 264 runs against Sri Lanka in 2014.

The Caribbeans were also not behind when it came to accepting rewards. Dwayne Bravo was named the ‘T20 Player of the Year’, whilst compatriot Kieron Pollard was pronounced the ‘Most Popular Athlete’.




About the Author

Mass Media student from the University of Mumbai. Also, a huge Cricket enthusiast and a Tennis fanatic, with a smattering of other sports.

TSM Plug