Islamabad United won PSL title for 2nd time

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Monday, April 2nd, 2018 | 0

Islamabad United has finally made a historic moment. In the final of Pakistan Super League 2018, they have won the match and through the victory Islamabad United won PSL title for 2nd time as the first team. Islamabad United started the season of Pakistan Super league 2018 very poorly but later they turned around and finished the group stage by standing on the top position. They played ten matches and won seven of them so far. So, they were selected for the first qualifier round and in the match, they beat Karachi Kings and directly jumped to the final.

Islamabad United won PSL title for 2nd time

Their final opponent was Peshawar zalmi which franchise team was the last season champion but failed tow in the title back to back. Though, they also struggled hard and passed the eliminator and 2nd qualifier round to play the final match. But all efforts finished in vain.

Pakistan Super League is a league T20 competition which is based in Pakistan. The season started in 2016 when the first episode of the tournament was executed. First time Islamabad United won the title and following next year, they failed to hold it but Peshawar Zalmi grabbed it. But in the 3rd episode of it, once again United reclaim their throne.

Peshawar Zalmi also started the new season of PSL no good but later, they also turned around and started to take the dominating part. They played ten matches in group stage and won five times. So, as one of the four team Zalmi moved to the next level. Due to be the 3rd ranked team they qualified for eliminator round and they won the match there against Quetta Gladiators.

In the 2nd qualifier round they also won against Karachi Kings and so, moved to the final for the 2nd time in PSL history. Their players did not justify their name in final and as a result they were lost the match.

The final match of PSL 3 between United and Zalmi was executed in 25th March, 2018 and at the National Stadium, Karachi the match was staged. In the match Zalmi won the toss which was a luck for them and decided to bat first. Later, they came and presented only 148 runs in 20 overs in front of United. Chris Jordan scored 36 runs highest for the team Zalmi. They lost nine wickets in the match so far where Shadab Khan took highest three wickets for the team United.

Later, in 16.5 overs Islamabad United reached the destination where Luke Ronchi scored highest 52 runs. They also lost seven wickets but finally did able to reclaim their honour.

About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug