India lost by 333 runs in 1st Test against Australia

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Sunday, February 26th, 2017 | 0

O’Keefe destroyed Indian batting line up again in the 2nd innings when he took the most important six wickets and rest four  were taken by Lyon. As a result Indian second innings has stopped in 107 runs and they lost the first Test against Australia by 333 runs. O’Keefe took total twelve wickets in this match by bowling two innings. Basically, through him, Australia got the victory easily. After twelve years, Australia has won a Test match in India and stooped India winning streak. India won last twenty Test matches consecutively which was finally stopped in their home field.

Earlier at the 3rd day, team Australia started to bat with six wickets in hand but just after the first session of the 3rd day, team Aussie getting all out and presented 441 runs target in front of India which almost nearly impossible to chase. Because, team India did not has any record to chase more than 414 runs in the second innings of the match and so, it was almost certain that Aussie will win the match. But in front of India, there was a chance for skipper Virat Kohli to prove himself once again to change the history but he failed in this innings as well.

So, team India came to bat but within 10 runs, O’Keefe stroke first and then Murali Vijay got lbw. Just six runs later, another spinner Lyon stroke and Rahul was out. So, India fallen into pressure and tried to be steady. Pujara and Kohli added almost 20 runs but Kohli got out unfortunately by O’Keefe. He just let the ball but could not think that the ball could hit the stamp. Later, Pujara stood for while and scored highest 31 runs for the team. Rest six players of India could not score two figure runs and getting packet in 33.5 overs. They totally scored 107 runs in the second innings. In the first innings, they scored 105 runs and so, they lost against India by 333 runs. THis is the most important victory for the Aussie team and through this, they has led the series by 1 – 0. O’Keefe was awarded as the players of the match due to his brilliant bowling spell.

About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug