India confirmed the series against England at Wankhede

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Monday, December 12th, 2016 | 0

English cricket team is currently in India to play a complete tournament with Men in Blues and already since 9th November, 2016, their competition has started. They are scheduled to play a tournament consists of Test, ODIs and T20Is. They have started their competition with long format cricket and already played four Test matches so far. Excluding the first Test between England and India, rest three matches were won by Men in Blues where first Test was drawn. By winning the fourth Test of India, they have just confirmed the series after a long time. Besides, this is the first time for Virat Kohli to led India a series victory against England. Since 2008, India failed to win a Test series against English team and that time was last time for England to travel India for a series. Though, later this both teams played three Test series and every times England won the series and also all of the tournaments were hosted in England.

India confirmed the series against England at Wankhede

India won the second and third Test after drawing their inaugural match at Rajkot. So, they were looking for another victory and two more matches were in hand. But, they successfully won their 4th Test at Wankhede where the match was started in 8th December, 2016. England won the toss elected to bat first. And also they scored a minimum rurs to the scoreboard which was almost 400 by losing all wickets. Keaton Jennings made a century for England in his debut match. Ravichandran Ashwin took six wickets for India. Came to at bat, Men in Blues scored 631 runs where skipper Virat Kohli scored a double century. Vijay and Yadav also made a century each in their first innings. As a result, India finished their innings by making 631 runs which was 231 ahead of England.

In the second innings of England, they were 231 runs behind of India but they failed to stand in front of Indian bowler. They left all wickets by making 195 runs. So, they lost by an innings and 36 runs. In this innings also, Ravichandran Ashwin took six wickets by giving 55 runs. And so, India won the series by winning three matches consecutively though still a match in hand.

About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug