Prize Money Of ICC Cricket World Cups & (Top 4 Test Teams)

by Sameer Arshad | Posted on Wednesday, May 14th, 2014 | 1

Cricket prize Money in all tournaments

50 overs ICC Cricket world cup is the 10th highest paying sports competition in terms of prize money and on this page we will take a look at the history of prize money of last three 50 over ICC World cups and the T20 world cup recently won by Sri Lanka.

ICC Cricket World CUp 2015 ScheduleIncrease in total prize money for ICC Cricket World Cup 2015:

Icc has confirm that they will be increasing the prize money to atlease 30% for the upcoming 2015 world cup. In last world cup which took place in India the total prize money was $10 million USD increased upto double of what was paid ou in 2007.  Below is the breakdown of the last 4 world cups.

ICC World Cups Prize Money – Historic Breakdowns
Position Winners Runnerup Semifinal (2 losers) Quarterfinals (4 losers) Total
2003 $2m $800,000 $400,000 $200,000 $4.5m
2007  $2.4m $1m $500,000 $250,000 $5m
2011  $3.2m $1.5m $7500,000 $370,000 $10m
2015  $4m $1.8 $900,000 $500,000 $13m


ICC T20 World Cup 2014ICC World Twenty20 – Prize Money Details:

The 2nd biggest ICC event which was taking place every two years also got an increase in the last world cup. below is the details of what teams took home in the last world Twenty20 competition.

ICC World Twenty20 Prize Money (Men’s & Women)
Category Men’s Women
Winners $1.1m $700,000
Runnerup $550,000 $30,000
Semifinal (2 losers) $275,000 $15,000
Every win in group stage $40,000 $2,500


T20 Champions League 2013 Teams groupsICC Cricket Champions Trophy Prize Money:

Champions trophy is another ICC flagship cricket competition which is played every 2 years and the last Champions Trophy was played in England where Indians won the tournament. Here is the prize money breakdown from the official ICC website.

ICC Champions Trophy Prize Money
Category Men’s
Winners $2 million
Runnerup $1 million
Semifinal (2 losers) $400,000 each
Team finishing 3rd in group stages (2) $100,000 each


Prize Money For Top 4 Test Ranked Teams:

In addition to limited over cricket, ICC also offer prize money for top 4 test ranked sides every year and according to reports prize money for top test teams will increase every year till the start of World Test Championship in 2017. Here is the details on how the prize money is awared to top teams and how it will be increasing in the future.

Top 4 Test Ranked Team Prize Money
Category  2014 2015 2016
Test Ranked NO#1 $450,000 $500,000 $550,000
Test Ranked NO#2 $300,000 $350,000 $400,000
Test Ranked NO#3 $200,000 $270,000 $300,000
Test Ranked NO#4 $180,000 $230,000 $275,000
About the Author

Formula one fan, blogger, designer and entrepreneur. Knows thing or two about a thing a two of sports, tweak codes, make cool infographs.

TSM Plug