ICC Women T20 World Cup Overview

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Sunday, December 6th, 2015 | 0

ICC Women T20 first played at 2009 and next year it will be in its 5th appearances this time it will host by India as like as they are also host of ICC World T20’s. Previously the tournament generally held within 8 teams but ICC determine to expend the total number of team this year. The previous roles of 6 top team will play directly are fixed but 4 team will participates through a qualification round which was 2 teams previously. The first tournament was host by England and it has won by them as well after defeating New Zealand at Lord’s.

ICC Women T20 World Cup

so far 10 teams were qualified them to play at the final event of ICC women T20 world cup. In their Bangladesh and Ireland each have 1 chances which was in last year. Either Australia, England, New Zealand, West Indies, India, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Pakistan all have most 4 appearances in this mega event from ICC for women.

Only 2 teams can achieve the title so far. Australia won this title 3 times and hat-trike title comes on last tournament in Bangladesh. And another title won by England at 2009 on first tournament. In their only 3 team from 10 participates can play in the final. 2 times final played by New Zealand and 3 each time played by England and Australia. Australia played most 20 games of ICC Women T20 world cup and they have also most 15 victories. England and New Zealand have second best 14 victories in their run from 19 matches.

Charlotte Edwards from England scored most 566 runs from her 19 world cup matches and become the most run scorer in the tournament. But in the bowling part Ellyse Perry from Australia took 24 wickets in her 3 tournament appearances and become the most wicket taker in this mega tournament.

About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug