Faisalabad beat Rawalpindi by 5 wickets

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Wednesday, November 22nd, 2017 | 0

National Twenty20 Cup which is the domestic T20 cricket tournament based in pakistan which was started in 2004/05. Already 13th season of the tournament has passed successfully and in every season, the participants number used to change. Highest 18 participants took part here in last season of National T20 Cup but in ongoing season of it, total eight franchise teams have competed. Though, it was about to start in August in the year but due to some reasons, it was delayed and started in 11th November, 2017. Already 22nd matches of the competition has passed and in last match between Faisalabad and Rawalpindi, Faisalabad beat Rawalpindi by 5 wickets.

Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium was the host venue of their match where Rawalpindi won the toss and elected to bat first. They presented 193 runs milestone in front of Faisalabad but the score was chased successfully in 19.5 overs. Faisalabad still five wickets left in hand.

However, came to bat by winning the toss Rawalpindi opened their innings with Ahsan Ali and skipper Umar Amin. They made a good start but first breakthrough was came by Asad Reza who took Ahsan Ali in 28 runs. Later in 2nd wicket partnership between Umar and Zain Abbas, they added more than 100 runs to the scorecard. Both of them almost dominated the bowlers of Faisalabad and scored 67 and 62 runs respectively. Captain Umar  Amin was out early and later, Zain Abbas played with Sohail Tanvir. Tanvir and Mohammad Irfan also played with responsibilities and both of them remained not out. Tanvir scored 32 runs in just 16 balls. After the 20 overs, Rawalpindi lost just three wickets and scored 193 runs so far. Bowlers did not able to do their job very well but Taj Wali, Asad Raza and Faheem Ashraf took one wicket each.

193 runs was big enough to secure the victory but ground was batting favoured. So, batsmen took the advantage properly though in four runs, Faisalabad lost their opener Ali Waqas. 2nd wicket was gone in 32 runs. Later, they started to play aggressively. Top orders and middle orders played well and got runs with bats. Sohaib Maqsood scored highest 87 runs in 43 balls. He colored his innings by scoring nine 4’s and six 6’s. By losing five wickets in 19.5 overs, Faisalabad made the chase possible and reached the destination. Khurram Shehzad scored 52 runs in 25 balls and Faheem Ashraf scored 26 runs in just 10 balls. Bowlers of Rawalpindi were too expensive. But Shadab Khan and Adnan Ghaus took two wickets each.

About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug