Comilla won against Riders by 4 wickets

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Wednesday, December 6th, 2017 | 0

5th season of BPL has started already and most of the matches of group stage have successfully finished. Total seven participants are competing here which is also known as BPL 5. It is also called AKS BPL 2017 Powered by Shah Cement due to sponsoring reason. Group stage matches are divided into four phases where total three venues will host the all matches of BPL. In the first match of phase four, Rangpur Riders played against Comilla Victorians which took place at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Dhaka. In the match, Comilla won against Riders by 4 wickets. However, earlier the match Comilla Victorians won the toss and came to bowl first. But came to bat Rangpur Riders fallen into batting collapse and lost their all wickets in just 97 runs. They just played 17.1 overs. On the other hand, Comilla had to play 19.3 overs to reach the destination. They lost six wickets. The bowlers of Riders bowled well but due to insufficient score, they could not make an happy end.

Comilla won against Riders by 4 wickets

Rangpur Riders opened their innings with Ziaur Rahman and Chris Gayle. In just 3 runs, they lost hard hitter Gayle who made a golden duck. He was the top batsmen in team Rangpur. By losing him, they fallen into pressure but in 8 runs, they lost their 2nd wicket Ziaur Rahman. Since then Riders started to lose wickets within regular difference and no one can make a long lasting partnership there. Just three players did able to score double figure runs. McCullum scored highest 24 runs where Mithun scored 17 runs so far. Bowler Sohag Gazi scored 12 runs so far. Though, Riders possessed number of top rated batsmen in their squad but the day was not for them. In just 97 runs Rangpur Riders got packet. Victorians bowlers were quite successful in the match where Mahedi Hasan took highest four wickets and Mohammad Saifuddin took three wickets so far.

However, Comilla started to chase the score with skipper Tamim and Liton Das. Liton was fallen in 22 runsby Mashrafee. He scored just 3 runs. Riders well maintained their bowlers and so, they created pressure on the Victorians but finally could not bring victory. Comilla also failed to make long partnership and their players also got out early with regular difference. Tamim scored highest 22 runs where Shoaib Malik scored 20 runs so far. They tried to keep their wickets in hand. And in 19.3 overs, they reached the destination successfully. Samuels and Hasan Ali made things possible and remained unbeaten.

About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug