BPL is starting after 2 years at 22nd November 2015

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Tuesday, September 29th, 2015 | 0

BPL also known as Bangladesh Premier League is returning to Bangladesh after 2 years.

2 years ago the premier league cricket had the last arrangement. There were some very shameful issues that time and thus Bangladesh Cricket Board was forced to stop BPL for 2 years. The payment of BPL from over 2 years is still not given and thus the money related issues are still ongoing. The Franchise’s that bought 7 teams are refusing to pay up and because of that BCB is forced to take law based action and look for new Franchise.

BPL is starting after 2 years at 22nd November 2015

However, due to the issue of last year, the numbers of companies which are interested in buying teams have decreased as well. BCB is saying that they will pay the players up before the end of this month and ten-teams BPL might be launching in November.

Unlike the first few occasions, this time their will be addition of more teams and it will be grander tournament. According to BCB only 3 sponsors from last seasons were allowed to bid for buying teams as only 3 companies paid the money they promised so far.

Here is the list of the probable 6 teams and their probable owners in this seasons BPL –

Team Name Owner
Dhaka Team Beximco Group
Chittagong Team DBL Group
Barisal Team Axiom Technologies
Sylhet Team Alif Group
Rangpur Team I Sports
Comilla Team Royal Sports Limited


Comilla isn’t a division yet but they are in line and keeping that in mind, BCB said, this season the teams will be City Corporation based and thus up to 10 teams might participate. However, only 6 teams have confirmed and even if no other team adds up, on 23rd November the BPL will commence.

We hope for the best for all the players who will be playing in this tournament.

About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug