Australia  won Trans-Tasman Tri Series

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Thursday, March 1st, 2018 | 0

Australia is one of the super power cricket team in the World as one of the two oldest team. They took part in the recently finished Trans-Tasman Tri Series with England and New Zealand. However, Australia played the tournament as one of the two host nation. Finally team Australia  won Trans-Tasman Tri Series by defeating New Zealand in final.

Australia  won Trans-Tasman Tri Series

In the whole series, Australia did well but their two competitors England and New Zealand showed very poor performance. Though the Black Caps was on the 2nd position on the T20I point table. But at the local ground against Australia they failed to judge their name.

Earlier, the tournament of Trans Tasman Tri Series started in 3rd February, 2018 with the group stage match. There were total six group stage matches staged where each team played four matches there. At first Australia secured the series by winning three matches consecutively. Later, in the 4th match, they won it as well. On the other hand, New Zealand and England won just one match each and analyzing the run difference New Zealand qualified for the final of the tournament.

The final of Trans Tasman Tri Series started in 21st February, 2018 and Eden Park, Auckland was the host venue of the match. In the final match which was between New Zealand and Australia, it was stopped due to rain in the middle.

Earlier, Black Caps won the toss against Australia in the match and decided to bat first. It was a day/ night competition where came to bat Black Caps played well. They presented almost good runs in front of Australia. By playing 20 overs New Zealand scored 150 runs by losing nine wickets. Ross Taylor remain undefeated with his 43 runs innings. He faced 38 balls so far. Ashton Agar took three wickets in 4 overs in exchange for 27 runs for Australia.

So, Australia came to chase 150 runs with good speed but rain affected the match. Australia played 14.4 overs and scored 121 runs. They lost three wickets where D’Arcy Short scored 50 runs highest in 30 balls. Later, applying D/L method, Australia was declared as the winner of the series. They won by 19 runs actually. However, it was the 100th T20I match of Australia and with victory, they made it remarkable. Ashton Agar was the player of the match finally.

Later, New Zealand cricket team will look forward their upcoming home series against England which is going to start in 25th February, 2018.

About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug