Australia revealed Test squad for India tour in February, 2017

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Thursday, January 19th, 2017 | 0

Australia used to play a test series against India in every years since 1996 which was known as Border – Gavaskar Trophy. The test series consists of four matches and it used to be hosted by India and Australia which means one year in India and the following next year in Australia. The title is known as Border – Gavaskar due to two respective players. Allan Border was an Aussie player where Sunil Gavaskar was an Indian player. But one thing was common about them that they scored more than 10,000 runs in Test and also led the national team as well. So, the series was named after them. Since the beginning, the title of the tournament has alternated every year and in maximum case, the host nation used to claim the trophy. However, almost twelve seasons of the trophy has almost passed since the beginning where India won the title highest seven times and Australia grabbed it for five times but Australia is the current trophy holder by winning the last title in 2014/15.

Australia revealed Test squad for India tour in February, 2017

However, the competition was to be held each year since 1996 but sometimes, the schedule was changed missed. So, the tournaments were staged sometimes consecutive year and sometimes once in every two years. So, last time it was staged in couple of years ago and now, it is scheduled to be held again. The upcoming competition will be the 13th edition where team Australia will visit India and the tournament will start in next 23rd February, 2017. In the meantime, team Aussie has already revealed the sixteen men team squad for this tour. In their team squad, there are some players whose are recalled by the national team which team will lead by Steve Smith.

Mitchell Swepson is called for India tour for the first time where Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Ashton Agar and Mitchell Marsh are recalled for the Test series after long time. Among sixteen men team squad, two specialist spinners Nathan Lyon and Steve O’Keefe are also called due to their recent performance. Here we present below their complete team squad for upcoming Border – Gavaskar Trophy in India.


# Australia Team Squad: Steve Smith (C), David Warner (VC), Matthew Wade, Ashton Agar, Mitchell Swepson, Jackson Bird, Mitchell Starc, Peter Handscomb, Matt Renshaw, Josh Hazlewood, Glenn Maxwell, Steve O’Keefe, Mitchell Marsh, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Nathan Lyon.

About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug