Adelaide Strikers won their first title

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Sunday, February 4th, 2018 | 0

The most amazing final of Australian Big Bash League competition has just finished earlier today where Adelaide Strikers and Hobart Hurricanes were qualified to face against each other in final. They fought bravely in semi final as well as whole tournament of BBL 2017/18 and finally reached into the final. In the match, Adelaide Strikers won their first title of BBL this time.

Adelaide Strikers won their first title

It was the 43rd match of the tournament in the ongoing season of Big Bash League and both teams played total ten group stage matches each. Adelaide Strikers qualified for final as one of the top tier in the ongoing season. They won seven matches out of ten in group stage where Hobart Hurricanes was the last team that qualified for knockout phase. They won five matches out of ten excluding the knockout round.

In group stage match where total eight participants competed for the title, this two teams faced against each other twice times. In the first match, Hobart Hurricanes beat Adelaide Strikers where in the second match, the different picture was seen. Adelaide Strikers beat Hurricanes there. So, the final match between them was the 3rd head to head battle between them where Adelaide Strikers defeat Hurricanes one more time. In the match, Hobart Hurricanes were defeated by 25 runs’.

Earlier in semi final which was the most hard competition for Hurricanes it seems where they faced the most dangerous opponent named Perth Scorchers. Perth was the defending champion of BBL and also the most successful team in the season. By beating them Hurricanes was in great form and basically they showed most amazing performance in semi final. On the other hand, for Adelaide Strikers, semi final was not so tough where they found Melbourne Renegades. They beat Melbourne Renegades there but that was also not an easy victory. They just won by 1 run so far.

However, the final match between Adelaide Strikers and Hobart Hurricanes was taken place in 4th February, 2018 and this time final match was hosted at Adelaide Oval, Adelaide where the attendance were 40,732. The field umpires were Shawn Craig and Phillip Gillespie. Earlier, Adelaide Strikers won the toss and like semi final, they elected to bat first. The decision was good enough where Adelaide Strikers scored 202 runs in exchange for just 2 wickets. One of the player of the team made a remarkable century out there who was Jake Weatherald. He scored 115 runs by facing only 70 balls. So, they did able to present a huge target in front of Hurricanes. Later, came to chase, Hurricanes failed to make the target but in complete 20 overs, they scored 177 runs by losing five wickets. Jake Weatherald was announced as the player of the match after the match.

About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug