VIDEO: D’Arcy Short controversial run-out during Pakistan T20I creates furore

by Ajit Singh Khanna | Posted on Saturday, October 27th, 2018 | 0

D’Arcy Short’s controversial run-out created a furore during the second Twenty20 International between Pakistan and Australia in the UAE on Friday.

In their chase of 148 runs, the Australian opener was adjudged run out after his partner Aaron Finch hit one straight off Imad Wasim, only for the ball to deflect off the latter’s hands and hit the stumps at the non-striker’s end.

After going through a series of replays, third umpire Shozab Raza deemed Short’s bat was not grounded, ruling him out.

A perplexed Short stood his ground for a while before heading back to the pavilion, much to the dismay of many, who felt the bat touched the ground before the bails were dislodged.

“We certainly had a view as a team that we thought his bat was clearly grounded behind the line,” Australia all-rounder Glenn Maxwell was quoted as saying by cricket.com.au.

“Maybe the third umpire pressed the wrong button. We’ve all made mistake. As we probably saw it in the change rooms, there wasn’t really any doubt.

“I think if you even look at the way he’s holding his bat, it’s very hard to hold it above the line with the bat sitting out of his gloves.”

Pakistan caption Sarfraz Ahmed, however, defended the decision.

“I don’t know why (there was) so much reaction because clearly it is out,” he said. “The bat is not on the ground.”

Meanwhile, Wasim went on to finish with figures of 4-1-8-1 as Pakistan won by 11 runs to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the 3-match series.

Have a look at the moment and let us know what you think!

 

About the Author



Pin It
TSM Plug