VIDEO: Controversy in Big Bash League as Alex Ross is given out for ‘obstructing the field’

by Ajit Singh Khanna | Posted on Wednesday, January 10th, 2018 | 0

Controversy erupted in the Big Bash League on Friday after Brisbane Heat’s Alex Ross was given out for ‘obstructing the field’ against Hobart Hurricanes on Tuesday.

It happened in the 17th over of Heat’s chase, when Ross – batting at 28 off 16 balls – pulled a short delivery towards mid-wicket and took off for a chancy second run.

While running back for the second, Ross changed his trajectory on seeing the ball rushing towards him as he somehow managed to dive into the crease before the throw hit the stumps.

However, the batsman was adjudged out for ‘blocking’ the way, much to the dismay of many.

Australian cricketers Andrew Tye and Glenn Maxwell were quick to voice their opinion against the decision.

“Seriously! The bloke is trying to protect himself and get out the way of it, if the ball hadn’t have hit him he would have made his ground! The ball hitting him has no direct effect on the game,” Tye wrote on his official Twitter handle.

“My personal feel is not out, he wasn’t wilfully trying to obstruct the field, rather trying to prevent from getting hit. But at the end of the day the umpires understand the rules a lot better than most and we wouldn’t have a game without them.”

Maxwell wrote: “He was trying not to get hit in the head… and not interfere with the throw. You could see he was clearly protecting his body, not his wicket. #error.”

Hurricanes, who had earlier amassed 179-4, fought off a late charge from the Heat to clinch a 3-run win.

 

 

 

About the Author



Pin It
TSM Plug