India won ODI series against Sri Lanka

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Monday, December 18th, 2017 | 0

Sri Lankan cricket team is currently travelling India where they are now under a tight schedule and according to the schedule, they are now playing a dual tournament against India. They have already lost the test series against Men in Blues but yesterday at the 3rd ODI matches, they faced consecutive two ODI defeats against India. So, team India won ODI series against Sri Lanka.

India won ODI series against Sri LankaFirst ODI was won by the Lions but in following next two matches, they faced defeat and so lost the series. The 3rd ODI was staged in 17th December, 2017 at Visakhapatnam where team India won the toss and let the Lions to bat first. Sri Lanka team scored 215 runs in their innings and by when they lost all wickets in 44.5 overs. In return, India chased the score successfully in 32.1 overs. They lost just two wickets. Shikhar Dhawan made an unbeaten century out there for India.

Sri lanka started to bat by losing the toss. With Gunathilaka and Tharanga, the Lions opened their innings. But unfortunately their partnership was broken in 15 runs. Gunathilaka scored just 13 runs. Later, Tharanga and Samarawickrama made more than 100 ruuns partnership where Samarawickrama finished his innings by scoring 42 runs. On the other hand, Tharanga scored highest 95 runs for the team. At the beginning, it seems that the Lions would cross 300 runs milestone easily butdue to the failure of middle and lower orders, their innings finished with 215 runs. In last 26 runs, Sri Lanka lost last six wickets. They even could not able to play whole 50 overs but their innings finished in 44.5 overs. Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav took three wickets for the team India where Pandya took two wickets so far.

On the other hand, due to absence of Kohli, Rohit Sharma played as the role of captain. He with Dhawan made their opening partnership but Sharma was gone by scoring just 7 runs. Later, Dhawan and Iyer made the 2nd wicket partnership and added more than 130 runs. In the meantime, Iyer scored 65 runs in 63 balls. Later, Dhawan and Karthik made the final and match winning partnership and led the team to victory. They got victory by eight wickets in 32.1 overs. Dhawan scored a brilliant century back there. Dananjaya and Perera rook one wicket each for the Lions.

Now, the Lions has just T20 series left and if they should fail to win the series, it would be a great shame of them. T20I series between them will start in 20th December, 2017.

About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug