ICC T20 World Cup 2016 Team of the Tournament

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Tuesday, April 5th, 2016 | 0

ICC T20 2016 Team of the Tournament

ICC just announced the team of the tournament of 2016 ICC World cup. At this last Sunday the tournament closed after men and women’s team final match. West Indies is the title winner in both event.

ICC announced the team of the tournament through a statement at last day (4th April). In men team most four player from England, two player from India and Champions West Indies. One from Australia, Bangladesh, New Zealand and one from South Africa in the list. On the other hand, in women’s team most four player from New Zealand, 2 player from Australia, England and West Indies.  And one from Pakistan and South Africa.

Virat Kohli is the men team skipper, while world cup winning skipper West Indiana Stefani Taylor is the women’s team captain. Two balanced team is picked through a selection panel which consisting respected commentators and former cricket star.

World Cup team (in batting order):


  1. Jason Roy (England)
  2. Quinton de Kock (South Africa, wicket-keeper)
  3. Virat Kohli (India, captain)
  4. Joe Root (England)
  5. Jos Buttler (England)
  6. Shane Watson (Australia)
  7. Andre Russell (West Indies)
  8. Mitchell Sentanar (New Zealand)
  9. David Wiley (England)
  10. Samuel Badree (West Indies)
  11. Ashish Nehra (India)

The Twelfth player: Mostafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)


The women’s team:


  1. Suzie Bates (New Zealand)
  2. Charlotte Edwards (England)
  3. Meg lyanim (Australia)
  4. Stephanie Taylor (West Indies, captain)
  5. Stophi Divine (New Zealand)
  6. Rachel Priyesta (New Zealand wicket-keeper)
  7. Dindra Dotina (West Indies)
  8. Megan Filmed (Australia)
  9. Sune Luce (South Africa)
  10. Leiga Kaspreka (New Zealand)
  11. Anya Srabasola (England)

Twelve players: Anam Amin (Pakistan)


ICC General Manager (Cricket), Geoff Aylardais said, ‘”it was quite difficult for expert’s in the selection of men’s and women’s team nearly 400 players from 26 teams to play. We thank all the players for their outstanding performance to finish a successful event. I believe that the selectors have chosen two balanced teams who are able to beat any one of these conditions.”

Who were in choice of the selection panel?

Geoff Ayalaradais (ICC General Manager-Cricket, Chairman)

Ian Bishop (former West Indies fast bowler)

Nasser Hussain (former England captain)

Mail Jones (Australia women’s team, the former guy)

Sanjay Manjrekar (former India batsman)

Lisa Styalekar (former Australian women’s team all-rounder)

About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug