2016 T20 Asia Cup Cricket Tournament Preview

by Toqui Tahmid | Posted on Sunday, December 6th, 2015 | 0

The 2016 Asia Cup cricket will take place at Bangladesh. This will be the 13th addition of this tournament so far which are continuing since 1985 and after 2 years gap. This year this tournament is some spatiality, because this is the first time holding in T20 format and 3rd consecutive time in Bangladesh. Before this, there have 2 times hosting credit of Asia Cup.

2016 T20 Asia Cup

This year Asia Cup is in playing in between 5 team, all 4 test playing country will get access directly in the main event and another team will select after a qualification round among 4 ICC associate member. The team are UAE, Oman, Hong Kong and Afghanistan. Among there, Afghanistan, Hong Kong and Oman set place in the main event at ICC T20 World Cup on next year at India.

After Starting Asia Cup form 1984, Sri Lanka have won this title for 5 time and they are also the defending champion of the tournament. 2010 world cup winner India have also 5 title so far. They have won their last title on 2010. In the middle at 2012 Bangladesh has played final for the first time in this tournament and they beat by Pakistan by only 2 runs in the final. On that time Pakistan won that title for the second time and that only Asia Cup final without Sri Lanka. Because Sri Lanka was played all 11 Asia Cup cricket tournament final out of 12 finals so far.

  • 16 Most Six by Shahid Afridi
  • 16 is the highest Average by MS Dhoni (min 10 innings) during 2008-2012
  • 139 Most Four by Sanath Jayasuriya
  • 183* is the highest individual score by Viral Kohli
  • 378 is most run in one tournament by Sanath Jayasuriya in 2008
About the Author

This is Toqui Tahmid a webmaster and sports reporter at Tsmplug

TSM Plug